Table of Contents
Five LFP solar-storage suppliers worth comparing are Sunway, BSLBATT, Pylontech, Dyness, and Deye. Their roughly 5 kWh low-voltage candidates are Sunway’s 51.2 V 100 Ah wall battery, BSLBATT B-LFP48-100E 3U, Pylontech US5000, Dyness DL5.0C, and Deye SE-G5.1 Pro-B. Each documents CAN communication. Similar products do not establish equal company size or identical BMS behavior. [1-5]
These modules target residential and light-commercial storage. Pylontech uses 48 V nominal; the others use 51.2 V. Check inverter voltage, protocol, current, and firmware. Similar capacity does not make different modules interchangeable or safe to mix.
Quick Answer: Five LFP Suppliers with CAN and BMS Protection
Sunway lists two-level overcurrent protection and a low-temperature charging block. BSLBATT documents cell monitoring and balancing. Pylontech US5000 specifies voltage, current, temperature, and short-circuit protection. Dyness DL5.0C adjusts current with battery temperature. Deye SE-G5.1 Pro-B combines an intelligent BMS with documented alarm/protection indicators. Compare those actions and request missing thresholds; advanced is not a universal safety grade. [1-5]
| Manufacturer / model | Nominal module / interface | Documented BMS feature |
| Sunway 51.2 V 100 Ah wall battery [1] | 51.2 V; 5.12 kWh; CAN/RS485 | Two-level overcurrent protection; cold-charge block |
| BSLBATT B-LFP48-100E 3U [2] | 51.2 V; 5.12 kWh; CAN/RS485 | Cell monitoring and balancing; request trip settings |
| Pylontech US5000 [3] | 48 V; 4.8 kWh; CAN/RS485 | Voltage, current, temperature, short-circuit protection |
| Dyness DL5.0C [4] | 51.2 V; 5.12 kWh; CAN (VCAN)/RS485 | Cell balancing; temperature-based current adjustment |
| Deye SE-G5.1 Pro-B [5] | 51.2 V; 5.12 kWh; CAN 2.0/RS485 | Intelligent BMS; alarm and protection indicators |
Why CAN Communication and BMS Protection Matter
A closed-loop battery connection can send state of charge, voltage, current limits, and alarms to a compatible inverter. The inverter then operates within the supported battery profile. CAN and RS485 describe interfaces, not a universal message language. Two devices with CAN may still exchange no useful data.
BMS protection and communication serve different jobs. The BMS manages battery conditions; the inverter must respond correctly to its limits and faults. Fuses, disconnects, cable sizing, grounding, and installation location remain part of the system design.
Five LFP Battery Manufacturers for Solar Energy Systems
Start with DC voltage and capacity, then compare the documented protection behavior. The table separates a stated function from an unconfirmed trip threshold. A missing published threshold should become a procurement question, not an assumed capability.
1 Sunway
The Sunway storage battery range includes a 51.2 V 100 Ah wall battery with 5.12 kWh nominal and 4.608 kWh usable energy. Its sheet lists RS485/CAN and 50 A recommended charge/discharge current. The 100 A value is a three-second maximum, not a continuous output rating. The wall-mounted product above matches this low-voltage comparison. [1]
The Sunway 5.12 kWh / 10.24 kWh wall-mounted battery page describes two-level overcurrent protection involving the BMS and circuit breaker. It also states that charging is blocked at 0 C and lists a 0-40 C operating range. This makes temperature-controlled installation important. Request trip settings, recovery rules, breaker specifications, and inverter approval; do not read the page’s broad inverter claim as model-level compatibility. [1]
2 BSLBATT
BSLBATT B-LFP48-100E 3U is a 51.2 V, 100 Ah, 5.12 kWh LFP module for residential solar, light-commercial storage, and related applications. It supports CAN and RS485. The product description documents cell monitoring and module-level balancing, with real-time voltage, temperature, and state-of-charge data. Its rack format differs from Sunway’s wall unit, but voltage and nominal energy are directly comparable. [2]
The IP20 module needs a protected location. BSLBATT lists 80 A rated charging and 100 A continuous discharge. Compare those continuous ratings separately from peak limits. Obtain the protection-action matrix, communication-loss response, firmware profile, and parallel layout. Confirm the specific inverter rather than relying on a brand list. LFP chemistry does not eliminate thermal-runaway risk. [2]
3 Pylontech
Pylontech US5000 is a 48 V, 4.8 kWh LFP module with 4.56 kWh usable energy and CAN/RS485. Its BMS covers overcharge, overdischarge, overcurrent, high/low temperature, and short-circuit protection, together with cell balancing and operation records. That gives buyers a specific protection checklist rather than a generic intelligent-BMS label. [3]
A flashing alarm indicates an alarm; a solid red indicator marks protection, which can prevent charge/discharge. The manual includes stop-charge and stop-discharge outputs. Do not connect modules in series. Confirm the approved inverter, cable, parallel arrangement, and firmware; use the applicable manual revision for thresholds rather than transferring settings from another Pylontech series. [3]
4 Dyness
Dyness DL5.0C is a 5.12 kWh LFP battery for residential and small commercial use, with CAN (VCAN) and RS485. It provides cell-level monitoring and balancing. Charge/discharge current adjusts automatically with battery temperature. That thermal response is a concrete BMS function, not just a communication specification. [4]
The DL5.0C enclosure is IP20, so choose a protected installation location. Regional availability excludes North America and Australia on this product listing. Confirm the compatible inverter and request voltage/current trip thresholds, temperature-current curves, fault recovery, and communication-loss behavior. The cited product description does not establish every protection action. [4]
5 Deye
Deye SE-G5.1 Pro-B is a 51.2 V, 100 Ah, 5.12 kWh LFP module with an intelligent BMS and IP20 enclosure. Its EU/English V06 manual lists CAN 2.0 and RS485 and distinguishes alarms from system error/protection. Nominal voltage and capacity match the Sunway comparison module. [5]
Deye lists parallel expansion, automatic networking, remote monitoring, and firmware updates. Confirm the unit count, external equipment, and inverter configuration. Request protection thresholds, switching hardware, temperature limits, and recovery instructions. Do not transfer protection features from another Deye series. [5]
How to Check Inverter Compatibility Before Ordering
Check both manufacturers’ compatibility lists for the exact pair and market. Confirm voltage, charge/discharge current, protocol, cable pinout, and firmware. A brand-level match or verbal approval is insufficient for a multi-unit installation.
Match the electrical architecture first
These are low-voltage modules, not high-voltage series stacks. Match the inverter’s permitted DC range and current before choosing capacity. A 48 V label and a 51.2 V label can describe different cell counts and charging limits. Do not mix brands or connect modules in series unless the manufacturer explicitly approves that design.
Confirm closed-loop communication
At commissioning, check live state of charge, voltage, current limits, and alarms without fallback values. Follow the approved procedure for checking communication loss and recovery. Record the battery and inverter firmware. A working display or a CAN socket alone does not demonstrate that charge limits and protective commands reach the inverter.
Plan capacity expansion at the start
Record module counts, parallel groups, controller limits, and rules for expanding an older bank. Leave space and DC capacity for the intended layout. Physical stackability alone does not establish electrical compatibility.
What Advanced BMS Protection Should Cover
Ask what happens, not just what is monitored. An overvoltage response may restrict charging, a temperature response may reduce current, and a persistent fault may stop operation. The five models above document different parts of that chain. Procurement should obtain the missing thresholds, delay times, switching device, fault log, and authorized recovery procedure.
Never test protection by deliberately overcharging, shorting, or overheating a battery. Use approved commissioning procedures and diagnostic records. Review the BMS alongside DC protection, earthing, enclosure limits, and local electrical/fire requirements. No protection feature makes an unsuitable installation safe.
Conclusion
Sunway, BSLBATT, Pylontech, Dyness, and Deye offer roughly 5 kWh low-voltage LFP candidates with CAN. Sunway documents two-level overcurrent protection and a cold-charge block, BSLBATT monitoring and balancing, Pylontech a broad protection list, Dyness temperature-based current adjustment, and Deye communication and fault indication. Confirm usable energy, inverter approval, and protection actions. Similar specifications do not prove equal support quality or safety performance. [1-5]
FAQs
Q1. Does a CAN port mean any solar inverter will work with the battery?
No. CAN is the physical communication method, while the message profile, cable pinout, inverter software, and battery firmware must also match. Compatibility should be confirmed for the exact battery and inverter models.
Q2. Is LFP suitable for residential solar storage?
LFP is widely used in stationary storage because it offers a practical balance of safety, cycle performance, and thermal stability. The complete system still needs correct protection, installation, ventilation, and operating settings.
Q3. Can different 5 kWh modules be mixed in one battery bank?
Not by default. Similar capacity and CAN ports do not make voltages, BMS profiles, firmware, or aging histories compatible. Use an approved same-model arrangement and follow the supplier’s expansion rules. Matching total kWh does not make low-voltage modules suitable for a high-voltage inverter.
Q4. What should be requested to compare BMS protection?
Request the model manual, trip thresholds and delays, temperature-current limits, switching hardware, communication-loss response, alarm logs, recovery procedure, inverter approval, firmware requirements, and local service contact. Published operating limits are not automatically the BMS trip thresholds.
Product References
[1] Sunway: 51.2 V 100 Ah wall battery specifications and protection FAQ. sunwayess.com/unway-5-12kwh-10-24kwh-wall-mounted-lithium-battery/; accessed 18 September 2026; revision not stated.
[2] BSLBATT: B-LFP48-100E 3U specifications and BMS features. bsl-battery.com/48v-100ah-lifepo4-server-rack-battery.html; accessed 18 September 2026; revision not stated.
[3] Pylontech: US5000/US5000-B Installation Manual V1.0, sections 3.1, 3.3 and 6. en.pylontech.com.cn/service/downloads; accessed 18 September 2026.
[4] Dyness: DL5.0C specifications and thermal-control FAQ. dyness.com/dl5-0c-low-voltage-storage-batteries-household-use; accessed 18 September 2026; revision not stated.
[5] Deye: SE-G5.1 Pro-B product page and EU/English User Manual V06. deye.com/product/se-g5-1-pro-b/; accessed 18 September 2026.